Mississippi State University affinity license plates can now be
purchased in four states across the South.
Interested in purchasing a tag in North Carolina? - Show your interest!
Efforts are being made to begin an MSU license tag offering in North Carolina. The NC DMV tells us that we must presell 300 tags at $30 each before production can begin. If you would be interested in purchasing an MSU license plate in North Carolina please complete this interest form by May 30.
The design will have parameters dictated by the NC DMV, but should be similar to those in other states.
Completing the interest form does not obligate you, this is simply to see if there is enough interest to move forward. If there is enough interest we will send another email with instructions on how to purchase. Help us get MSU car tags in North Carolina!
Georgia Car Tags are now available - Get yours today!
MSU Georgia Car Tag FAQ:
Q: How did this become available?
A: The MSU Alumni Association through the support of some True Maroon MSU donors was able to pre-purchase the required 1,000 tags to have an MSU car tag printed in Georgia. The first 1,000 tags are only available exclusively through the MSU Alumni Association’s website.
Q What is the cost of the MSU car tag in Georgia?
A: The initial cost is the $26.50 you will pay via the MSU Alumni Association’s Website which is the required $25.00 manufacturing fee plus $1.50 processing fee. Once you pay that you will receive an e-mail, a receipt, and relinquishment letter that you will present at your local county tag office. At that time you will pay a $35 specialty tag fee, a $20 annual tag fee, and any applicable other fees you might have due.
Listing of Registration Fees
Manufacturing Fee: $25 (One-time fee)
Annual Tag Fee: $20
Annual Special Tag Fee: $35
Ad Valorem Tax: (if applicable) Varies
Late Renewal Penalties: (if applicable) Varies
Mailing Fee: (if applicable) $1
Q: After I submit my online application and pay the $26.50 ($25 manufacturing fee and $1.50 processing) to the MSU Alumni Association, what are the next steps?
A: You will receive a confirmation e-mail with important documents. You will need to print out the e-mail sent by the MSU Alumni Association, the department of revenue receipt, and your relinquishment form and take to your local county tag office. You will pay the above listed fees that apply. You will receive a temporary operating permit, and your MSU tag will be mailed to you within 5 – 7 business days.
Q: Must I wait for my annual renewal period if I just renewed or my renewal period is later this year?
A: No you can apply for the MSU tag, and pay all applicable fees at the local county tag office (depending on your situation, pro-ration of fees may be applied to your new MSU tag).
Q: Will Mississippi State receive any of the revenue from MSU car tags in Georgia?
A: No. All revenue generated from the tags will stay in GA. However, we are excited our Alumni and friends will be able to display their pride for MSU and help market the University with their MSU Georgia car tags!
Mississippi State car tags are now available in Washington D.C.!
We have some exciting news for you! The District of Columbia's DMV has now started issuing Mississippi State University license plates. You can proudly drive around our nation's capital and show support for your alma mater. All alumni, fans and friends are encouraged to purchase a plate.
Get yours today!
When you arrive at the DMV, you will need to present this authorization letter, proof of insurance and your drivers license.
Depending on your renewal date, the fees range from $25 to $125.
We look forward to seeing those Hail State tags on the road!
For more information on the Washington D.C. license plate, please contact Edward Sanders, former President of the D.C. Chapter, at firstname.lastname@example.org.
MSU AL Car Tag FAQ
Q: Is it too late to participate in the precommitment for the MSU car tag in AL?
A: Yes, we have reached the 1,000 necessary to guarantee production.
Q: Since I was not able to participate in the 1,000 who precommitted, can I still buy the car tag?
A: Yes, you can purchase at the time of your renewal*.
Q: What is the cost to purchase the MSU car tag in AL?
A: $50 in addition to your renewal fee.
Q: For those who participated in the 1,000 precommitted tags, what are next steps?
A: The AL DOR will begin production of our MSU tags. It generally takes 2 to 3 months to print then ship the tags to the county tag office.
Q: How will I know when my precommitted tag is ready?
A: The AL DOR will determine the issue date then will send an email to all who precommitted letting them know when the tags will be available at their county tag office.
Q: How do I claim my precommitted tag?
A: You should have received a receipt (redemption voucher) once you submitted your precommitment. Take that into the county tag office to claim your tag. If you do not have the receipt, the county official can log onto MVTRIP (tag commitment) to verify the commitment.
Q: Do I have to wait for my renewal month to claim my precommitted tag?
A: No, but you will need to surrender your current tag to the county official before you will be issued the MSU tag. Credit for the surrendered tag will be given. An additional $50 will be assessed since the fee is due with each renewal.
Q: Will Mississippi State receive any of the revenue from MSU car tags precommitted or purchased in the future?
A: No. All revenue generated from the tags will stay in AL.
*According to the AL DOR it will be 2 to 3 months before production is complete. This FAQ was posted March 5.
There is no better way to show your loyalty and pride in Mississippi State than owning an official MSU license plate. Over 22,000 drivers in MS, AL, TN and TX help promote our university in this way. Displaying this tag will let everyone know, wherever you drive, that Mississippi State University is your institution of choice! Join the phenomenon next time you renew your tag.
In Mississippi, tags may be purchased through your county tax collector’s office and the cost of a collegiate license plate is approximately $53.50 per year in addition to the normal cost, and $32.50 of that fee goes directly to help fund priority programs at our university.
The MSU license plate is available to Tennessee residents who are registering a private passenger motor vehicle through each county clerk's office. The annual fee is $56.50 - 80% of the additional $35 collected is allocated to the Tennessee Arts Commission and 20% to the Highway Fund. The plate can be personalized with 5 characters available for a total cost of $91.50.
The Texas tag, which was designed, marketed and sold by
MyPlates.com, is available for purchase from the Texas Department
of Transportation. Tags can
be purchased during your normal renewal and the cost depends on the style, as there are a few different options. Click here to
design and order your MSU Texas car tag!
Ten percent (10%) of the cost goes to a scholarship fund for Texas students who attend
Click here to see how many MSU license plates are on the road in Mississippi.