Mississippi State University


2013 Alumni Fellows honored

The MSU Alumni Association will welcome the 2013 class of Alumni Fellows this weekend. The group will be honored in conjunction with the MSU vs. Alabama football game.

Sponsored by the MSU Alumni Association and the university’s eight academic colleges, the Alumni Fellows Program recognizes alumni who have distinguished themselves in their respective careers. They are selected by each college and are invited to return to campus to meet with students, both in the classroom and informally.

This year’s class includes:

Claude G. Steele III from Greenville was named fellow for the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Steele is a 1971 agricultural engineering technology and business graduate who is a partner with Steele Farms.

Amie Oliver of Richmond, Va., was selected fellow for the College of Architecture, Art and Design. Oliver earned a bachelor’s degree in art in 1982. She now serves an adjunct faculty member at Virginia Commonwealth University.

Dr. Fred G. Corley Jr. of San Antonio, Texas, has been chosen as fellow for the College of Arts and Sciences. Corley is a 1968 chemistry graduate who serves as a professor in the Department of Orthopaedics with the University of Texas Health Science Center.

The College of Business honored Mary M. Childs of Ripley as fellow. Childs received a bachelor’s degree in banking and finance in 1980. She serves as president, CEO, COO and vice chairman of The Peoples Bank.

Dr. Janice I. Nicholson of Florence, Ala., is the 2013 fellow for the College of Education. Nicholson holds master’s and doctorate degrees in elementary education from MSU in 1967 and 1977, respectively. She is retired as executive vice president for student affairs and graduate/special programs at Blue Mountain College.

Timothy S. Duncan of Kingwood, Texas, was selected as fellow for the James Worth Bagley College of Engineering. Duncan earned a Bachelor of Science in petroleum engineering in 1995. He currently serves as president and CEO for Talos Energy LLC.

James L. Cummins Jr. of Amory was named the College of Forest Resources fellow. Cummins earned a degree in fisheries management in 1987. He is currently the executive director for Wildlife Mississippi in Stoneville.

The College of Veterinary Medicine honored Dr. Huang-Ge Zhang as its Alumni Fellow. Zhang earned a Doctor of Philosophy degree from CVM in 1994. He now serves as a professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Louisville School of Medicine in Louisville, Ky., where he resides.

Mississippi State University offers congratulations to each of the 2013 Alumni Fellows.
For extended bios on this years Fellows, click here.

MSU Alumni Association
Post Office Box AA | One Hunter Henry Boulevard | Mississippi State, MS 39762-5526
662-325-7000 phone | 662-325-8425 fax | Page Maintainer